PADUCAH — West Kentucky Community and Technical College Board of Directors elected new officers for the 2020-2021 year at its Oct. 6 virtual board meeting.

Hickman’s Charles R. Murphy, vice president/agricultural loan officer for Independence Bank, was elected board chair, Mayfield’s Barry R. McDonald, president of Bill Adams Construction, was named board vice chair, and Paducah’s Chris Roty, president of Baptist Health Paducah, was named board secretary.

Murphy replaces Larry Kelley of Bardwell, who served as board chair from October 2018 — October 2020. Kelley also served as vice chair and secretary since he joined the board in June 2009.

Former Governor Matt Bevin appointed Murphy and McDonald to the WKCTC Board of Directors in August 2018 and appointed Roty to the board in December 2019.

“I would like to personally extend my congratulations to the newly elected WKCTC Board officers, and I would also like to thank outgoing chair, Larry Kelley, for his many years of service and outstanding support and dedication to the college,” said WKCTC President Anton Reece.

The WKCTC Board of Directors consists of 10 members, seven of whom are appointed by the Governor of the Commonwealth of Kentucky and three members consisting of elected representatives from WKCTC faculty, staff, and the student body.

Other WKCTC board members are Dennis Lacy of Hopkinsville; faculty/staff representatives Heather Coltharp of Paducah and Summer Holland of Benton and student representative Nadia Pacheco of Paducah. There will be three vacancies on the WKCTC board. Larry Kelley is not running for re-election but will continue to serve on the board until the vacancies are filled by the Governor.

The Board of Directors is responsible for adopting and implementing an annual budget, approving budget requests, and evaluating the college president. The board meets about four times a year.