A Kentucky State Police trooper recently received high honors from the state for his work getting impaired drivers off the road last year.

Post 1 Trooper Landon Stewart received the 2020 Governor’s Impaired Driving Enforcement Award for his efforts to improve highway safety by removing alcohol and drug-impaired drivers from Kentucky roadways.

“Highway safety is a shared responsibility and we work with the motoring public, as well as our local, state and federal partners, to help provide a safe and reliable transportation system in Kentucky,” said Gov. Andy Beshear, “This award recognizes the men and women of law enforcement, who are a key component in our highway safety efforts. Were it not for their actions, there would undoubtedly be more crashes, injuries or worse on our roadways.”

Awards were presented by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s (KYTC) Office of Highway Safety to more than 200 officers for their enforcement efforts from Oct. 1, 2019 through Sept. 30, 2020.

“This is more than just receiving an award,” said KYTC Secretary Jim Gray. “It is about saving lives and that is what officers do every time they arrest an impaired driver.”

Stewart arrested 49 impaired drivers on Kentucky roadways. He has been a trooper with KSP for two years, and before that he served as an officer with the Kennett Police Department in Missouri for four years.

Post 1 Captain David Archer is pleased with Trooper Stewart’s efforts.

“Trooper Stewart’s resolve in removing impaired drivers from our roadways has prevented an untold number of deaths and injuries from motor vehicle collisions. His work embodies our mission statement of enhancing highway safety through education and enforcement. He and his fellow troopers work daily to keep our highways safe,” Archer said.

The Governor’s Impaired Driving Enforcement Awards ceremony, typically held in-person each December, was cancelled due to COVID-19. This year, awards were mailed to each winner.

Kentucky State Police Post 1 is located in Hickory in Graves County along U.S. 45 North.

Stewart wasn’t the only local officer to receive such honors. Mayfield Police Officer Cody Rogers and Graves County Sheriff’s Deputy Chandler Sirls also received the award back in February.